Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

House Committee on Appropriations - 74th R.S. (1995)

Committee Members
Robert Junell, Chair
Dianne White Delisi, Vice Chair
John Carona
Billy Clemons
Garnet Coleman
Karyne Jones Conley
John Cook
Henry Cuellar
Renato Cuellar
Yvonne Davis
Pete Gallego
Bob Glaze
Patricia Gray
Sherri Greenberg
Patrick "Pat" Haggerty
Jack Harris
Talmadge Heflin
Christine Hernandez
Jerry Johnson
Dan Kubiak
Nancy McDonald
Anna Mowery
Steve Ogden
Carolyn Park
Richard Peña Raymond
David Swinford
Sylvester Turner
• Conduct a review of performance-based budgeting and strategic planning, as currently implemented. Review the original goals and theories supporting these processes and assess the extent to which goals have been attained. Develop performance measures to assess future success of the planning and budgeting processes.
• Review the overall salary and benefit levels of state employees and assess how they compare with the private sector.
• Review special issues related to state compensation, including merit pay; salary increases for exempt employees; the achievement bonus program; severance pay and "golden parachutes;" non-monetary emoluments such as housing or personal services; and parity in compensation for similar work performed at different agencies.
• Review the state's means for overseeing the planning and implementation for major information systems by state agencies and institutions. Include a history of the state's efforts to accomplish such oversight. Review major projects that have not met goals, including timeliness and budgets.
• Review the efficiency of funding numerous local programs through Councils of Governments or other similar intermediary organizations. The Committee should consider the accountability of the state, regional and local entities for funds used for such programs.
• Conduct active oversight of agencies under the committee's jurisdiction.

John Carona (Member) resigned 6/20/1996.
Karyne Jones Conley (Member) resigned 7/8/96.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.