SB 12, 87th 2nd C.S. history

Help | Status

SB 12, 87th 2nd C.S.
Relating to the reduction of the amount of a limitation on the total amount of ad valorem taxes that may be imposed by a school district on the residence homestead of an individual who is elderly or disabled to reflect any reduction from the preceding tax year in the district's maximum compressed rate and to the protection of school districts against the resulting loss in local revenue.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Paul Bettencourt
Joint Author: Lois Kolkhorst
Coauthor: Carol Alvarado | Brian Birdwell | César Blanco | Dawn Buckingham | Donna Campbell | Brandon Creighton | Sarah Eckhardt | Roland Gutierrez | Bob Hall | Kelly Hancock | Juan Hinojosa | Joan Huffman | Bryan Hughes | Nathan Johnson | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | José Menéndez | Jane Nelson | Robert Nichols | Angela Paxton | Charles Perry | Beverly Powell | Charles Schwertner | Kel Seliger | Drew Springer | Larry Taylor | Royce West | John Whitmire
Sponsor: Morgan Meyer
Joint Sponsor: Will Metcalf | Dustin Burrows | Angie Button | Ryan Guillen
CoSponsor: Steve Allison | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Trent Ashby | Ernest Bailes | Cecil Bell | Keith Bell | Kyle Biedermann | Greg Bonnen | Brad Buckley | DeWayne Burns | Giovanni Capriglione | David Cook | Drew Darby | Jay Dean | Art Fierro | Charlie Geren | Craig Goldman | Sam Harless | Cody Harris | Cole Hefner | Dan Huberty | Lacey Hull | Todd Hunter | Jacey Jetton | Stephanie Klick | John Kuempel | Jeff Leach | Ben Leman | J. M. Lozano | Mayes Middleton | Geanie W. Morrison | Jim Murphy | Candy Noble | Tom Oliverson | Chris Paddie | Jared Patterson | Dennis Paul | Four Price | John Raney | Glenn Rogers | Scott Sanford | Matt Shaheen | Hugh Shine | Bryan Slaton | Shelby Slawson | David Spiller | Phil Stephenson | Lynn Stucky | Valoree Swanson | Ed Thompson | Tony Tinderholt | Steve Toth | Gary VanDeaver | Cody Vasut | James White | Terry M. Wilson

Remarks: This act takes effect January 1, 2023 but only if SJR 2 is approved by the voters.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2021, 87th 2nd C.S.,ch. 14, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 11 (Identical)

Enabling legislation for: SJR 2

Disabilities, Persons with
Education--Primary & Secondary--Finance
Property Interests--Homestead
Taxation--Property-Assessment & Collection
Taxation--Property-Tax Rate
Taxation--School District

House Committee: Ways & Means (Morgan Meyer, Angie Button, Sheryl Cole, R. D. "Bobby" Guerra, Trey Martinez Fischer, Jim Murphy, Candy Noble, Eddie Rodriguez, Scott Sanford, Hugh Shine, Shawn Thierry)
Senate Committee: Local Government (Paul Bettencourt, Sarah Eckhardt, Roland Gutierrez, Bob Hall, José Menéndez, Robert Nichols, Angela Paxton, Drew Springer, Judith Zaffirini)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.