SB 6, 87th 2nd C.S. history

Help | Status

SB 6, 87th 2nd C.S.
Relating to rules for setting the amount of bail, to the release of certain defendants on a monetary bond or personal bond, to related duties of certain officers taking bail bonds and of a magistrate in a criminal case, to charitable bail organizations, and to the reporting of information pertaining to bail bonds.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Joan Huffman
Coauthor: Paul Bettencourt | Brian Birdwell | Dawn Buckingham | Donna Campbell | Brandon Creighton | Bob Hall | Juan Hinojosa | Bryan Hughes | Lois Kolkhorst | Jane Nelson | Robert Nichols | Angela Paxton | Charles Perry | Charles Schwertner | Drew Springer | Larry Taylor
Sponsor: Reggie Smith
Joint Sponsor: David Cook | Sam Harless | Kyle Kacal
CoSponsor: Charles "Doc" Anderson | Cecil Bell | Keith Bell | Greg Bonnen | Brad Buckley | DeWayne Burns | Angie Button | Jay Dean | Charlie Geren | Cody Harris | Cole Hefner | Justin Holland | Dan Huberty | Lacey Hull | Todd Hunter | Jacey Jetton | Phil King | Stephanie Klick | Matt Krause | John Kuempel | Lyle Larson | Jeff Leach | Ben Leman | J. M. Lozano | Will Metcalf | Morgan Meyer | Mayes Middleton | Geanie W. Morrison | Jim Murphy | Candy Noble | Tom Oliverson | Chris Paddie | Tan Parker | Jared Patterson | Dennis Paul | Four Price | John Raney | Glenn Rogers | Scott Sanford | Hugh Shine | Shelby Slawson | David Spiller | Phil Stephenson | Lynn Stucky | Valoree Swanson | Ed Thompson | Tony Tinderholt | Steve Toth | Gary VanDeaver | Cody Vasut | James White | Terry M. Wilson

Remarks: This Act takes effect January 1, 2022, except Sections 4, 6, 17, 18, 19, 20, and 21 and Articles 17.021, 17.024, 17.15(a), and 17.15(c), Code of Criminal Procedure, as added or amended by this Act, take effect December 2, 2021; Section 7 and Article 17.15(b), Code of Criminal Procedure, as added by this Act, have no effect.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2021, 87th 2nd C.S.,ch. 11, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 12 (Identical)

Enabling legislation for: SJR 3

Charitable & Nonprofit Organizations
Crimes--Against Persons--General
Crimes--Against Persons--Sexual
Criminal Procedure--Bail & Pretrial Release

House Committee: Constitutional Rights & Remedies, Select (Trent Ashby, John Bucy III, Travis Clardy, Charlie Geren, Jacey Jetton, Ann Johnson, Stephanie Klick, Brooks Landgraf, Oscar Longoria, J. M. Lozano, Joe Moody, Victoria Neave, Matt Shaheen, Senfronia Thompson, James White)
Senate Committee: Jurisprudence (Joan Huffman, Brandon Creighton, Juan Hinojosa, Bryan Hughes, Nathan Johnson)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.