HJR 34, 86th R.S. history

Help | Status

HJR 34, 86th R.S.
Proposing a constitutional amendment authorizing the legislature to provide for a temporary exemption from ad valorem taxation of a portion of the appraised value of certain property damaged by a disaster.

Last action: Filed with the Secretary of State

Author: Hugh Shine
Joint Author: Drew Darby | Phil Stephenson
Coauthor: Charles "Doc" Anderson | Trent Ashby | Cecil Bell | César Blanco | Dwayne Bohac | Brad Buckley | DeWayne Burns | Dustin Burrows | Angie Button | Giovanni Capriglione | Travis Clardy | Philip Cortez | John Cyrier | Jay Dean | Dan Flynn | Charlie Geren | R. D. "Bobby" Guerra | Ryan Guillen | Roland Gutierrez | Gina Hinojosa | Dan Huberty | Todd Hunter | Kyle Kacal | Ken King | Matt Krause | John Kuempel | Stan Lambert | Brooks Landgraf | Jeff Leach | Eddie Lucio III | Will Metcalf | Rick Miller | Poncho Nevárez | Candy Noble | Tom Oliverson | Evelina "Lina" Ortega | Jared Patterson | Dennis Paul | Eddie Rodriguez | Scott Sanford | J. D. Sheffield | John Smithee | Lynn Stucky | Ed Thompson | Gary VanDeaver | John Wray | Gene Wu | John Zerwas
Sponsor: Paul Bettencourt
CoSponsor: Eddie Lucio, Jr.

Session Law Chapter: Acts 2019, 86th R.S., HJR 34

Signed legislation


SJR 49 (Identical)
SJR 57 (Similar)

Enabling legislation: HB 492

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 05/23/2019) Hugh Shine (Chair) | Dustin Burrows | Drew Darby | Trey Martinez Fischer | Jim Murphy |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/24/2019) Paul Bettencourt (Chair) | Brandon Creighton | Kelly Hancock | Juan Hinojosa | Angela Paxton |

Disaster Preparedness & Relief
Resolutions--Constitutional Amendments
Taxation--Property-Appraisals & Appraisal Districts

House Committee: Ways & Means (Dustin Burrows, Dwayne Bohac, Sheryl Cole, Ryan Guillen, Trey Martinez Fischer, Jim Murphy, Candy Noble, Eddie Rodriguez, Scott Sanford, Matt Shaheen, John Wray)
Minutes: March 20 2019 | April 3 2019
Senate Committee: Property Tax (Paul Bettencourt, Brandon Creighton, Kelly Hancock, Juan Hinojosa, Angela Paxton)
Minutes: May 16 2019

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.