HB 492, 86th R.S. history

Help | Status

HB 492, 86th R.S.
Relating to a temporary exemption from ad valorem taxation of a portion of the appraised value of certain property damaged by a disaster.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Hugh Shine
Joint Author: Drew Darby | Jim Murphy | Phil Stephenson | John Raney
Coauthor: Charles "Doc" Anderson | Trent Ashby | Cecil Bell | Dwayne Bohac | Brad Buckley | DeWayne Burns | Dustin Burrows | Angie Button | Gina Calanni | Giovanni Capriglione | Travis Clardy | Philip Cortez | John Cyrier | Jay Dean | Dan Flynn | Charlie Geren | R. D. "Bobby" Guerra | Ryan Guillen | Roland Gutierrez | Gina Hinojosa | Dan Huberty | Todd Hunter | Kyle Kacal | Ken King | Matt Krause | John Kuempel | Stan Lambert | Brooks Landgraf | Jeff Leach | Eddie Lucio III | Will Metcalf | Rick Miller | Poncho Nevárez | Candy Noble | Tom Oliverson | Evelina "Lina" Ortega | Jared Patterson | Dennis Paul | Eddie Rodriguez | Scott Sanford | J. D. Sheffield | John Smithee | Lynn Stucky | Valoree Swanson | Ed Thompson | Gary VanDeaver | John Wray | Gene Wu | John Zerwas
Sponsor: Larry Taylor
CoSponsor: Paul Bettencourt | Lois Kolkhorst

Remarks: This Act takes effect January 1, 2020, but only if HJR 34 is approved by the voters.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2019, 86th R.S.,ch. 1034, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


SB 1322 (Identical)

Enabling legislation for: HJR 34

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 05/23/2019) Hugh Shine (Chair) | Dustin Burrows | Drew Darby | Trey Martinez Fischer | Jim Murphy |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/24/2019) Larry Taylor (Chair) | Paul Bettencourt | Brandon Creighton | Juan Hinojosa | Angela Paxton |

Disaster Preparedness & Relief
Taxation--Property-Appraisals & Appraisal Districts
Taxation--Property-Assessment & Collection
Taxation--Property-State Administration

House Committee: Ways & Means (Dustin Burrows, Dwayne Bohac, Sheryl Cole, Ryan Guillen, Trey Martinez Fischer, Jim Murphy, Candy Noble, Eddie Rodriguez, Scott Sanford, Matt Shaheen, John Wray)
Minutes: March 20 2019 | April 3 2019
Senate Committee: Property Tax (Paul Bettencourt, Brandon Creighton, Kelly Hancock, Juan Hinojosa, Angela Paxton)
Minutes: May 21 2019

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.