SB 11, 85th R.S. history

Help | Status

SB 11, 85th R.S.
Relating to the provision of child protective services and other health and human services by certain state agencies or under contract with a state agency, including foster care, child protective, relative and kinship caregiver support, prevention and early intervention health care, and adoption services.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Charles Schwertner
Joint Author: Jane Nelson | Carlos Uresti
Coauthor: Kirk Watson | Larry Taylor | Konni Burton | Paul Bettencourt | Bob Hall | Brandon Creighton | Donna Campbell | Charles Perry | Robert Nichols | Craig Estes | Joan Huffman | Brian Birdwell | Dawn Buckingham | Van Taylor | Juan Hinojosa | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | José Menéndez | Bryan Hughes | Sylvia Garcia | Kelly Hancock | Don Huffines | Kel Seliger | Royce West | Judith Zaffirini | John Whitmire | Lois Kolkhorst | José Rodríguez
Sponsor: James Frank
Joint Sponsor: Richard Peña Raymond | Stephanie Klick | Cindy Burkett | Tony Dale
CoSponsor: Rick Miller | Gene Wu | Valoree Swanson

Remarks: This Act takes effect September 1, 2017, except Section 23 takes effect immediately.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2017, 85th R.S.,ch. 319, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 6 (Similar)
HB 914 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 05/26/2017) James Frank (Chair) | Cindy Burkett | Tony Dale | Stephanie Klick | Richard Peña Raymond |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/25/2017) Charles Schwertner (Chair) | Brian Birdwell | Donna Campbell | Jane Nelson | Carlos Uresti |

Gubernatorial documents:

Family--Child Protection
Family--Parent & Child
Minors--Health & Safety

House Committee: Human Services (Richard Peña Raymond, James Frank, Mark Keough, Stephanie Klick, Rick Miller, Ina Minjarez, Toni Rose, Valoree Swanson, Gene Wu)
Minutes: April 17 2017 | May 6 2017
Senate Committee: Health & Human Services (Charles Schwertner, Dawn Buckingham, Konni Burton, Lois Kolkhorst, Borris Miles, Charles Perry, Van Taylor, Carlos Uresti, Kirk Watson)
Minutes: February 2 2017 | February 22 2017

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.