SB 7, 85th R.S. history

Help | Status

SB 7, 85th R.S.
Relating to improper relationships between educators and students and reporting of educator misconduct; creating a criminal offense and expanding the applicability of an existing offense; authorizing an administrative penalty.

Last action: Effective on 9/1/17

Author: Paul Bettencourt
Coauthor: Donna Campbell | Larry Taylor | Kelly Hancock | José Menéndez | Kel Seliger | Bob Hall | Robert Nichols | Lois Kolkhorst | Craig Estes | Charles Perry | Juan Hinojosa | Brandon Creighton | Dawn Buckingham | Brian Birdwell | Carlos Uresti | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | Van Taylor | John Whitmire | José Rodríguez | Don Huffines | Joan Huffman | Jane Nelson | Bryan Hughes | Charles Schwertner | Judith Zaffirini | Royce West | Konni Burton | Kirk Watson | Borris Miles | Sylvia Garcia
Sponsor: Ken King
Joint Sponsor: John Kuempel | Tony Dale | Harold V. Dutton, Jr. | Gary VanDeaver
CoSponsor: Charles "Doc" Anderson | Rodney Anderson | Ernest Bailes | Dwayne Bohac | Greg Bonnen | Cindy Burkett | DeWayne Burns | Travis Clardy | Byron Cook | Scott Cosper | Joe Deshotel | Wayne Faircloth | Pat Fallon | Dan Flynn | John Frullo | Larry Gonzales | Ryan Guillen | Jason Isaac | Kyle Kacal | Phil King | Linda Koop | Matt Krause | Stan Lambert | Jeff Leach | Will Metcalf | Morgan Meyer | Geanie W. Morrison | Tan Parker | Dennis Paul | Dade Phelan | Larry Phillips | Four Price | John Raney | Kevin Roberts | Scott Sanford | Leighton Schubert | Phil Stephenson | Lynn Stucky | Terry M. Wilson | Paul Workman | John Zerwas | Dan Huberty

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2017, 85th R.S.,ch. 178, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 3769 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)

Gubernatorial documents:

Education--Primary & Secondary--Charter Schools
Education--Primary & Secondary--Other School Personnel
Education--Primary & Secondary--Private
Education--Primary & Secondary--Teachers
Education--School Districts
Minors--Crimes Against

House Committee: Public Education (Dan Huberty, Alma Allen, Diego Bernal, Dwayne Bohac, Joe Deshotel, Harold V. Dutton, Jr., Lance Gooden, Ken King, Linda Koop, Morgan Meyer, Gary VanDeaver)
Minutes: March 21 2017 | April 12 2017
House Committee: Public Education-S/C on Educator Quality (Ken King, Alma Allen, Harold V. Dutton, Jr., Morgan Meyer, Gary VanDeaver)
Senate Committee: Education (Larry Taylor, Paul Bettencourt, Donna Campbell, Bob Hall, Don Huffines, Bryan Hughes, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Kel Seliger, Van Taylor, Carlos Uresti, Royce West)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.