HB 5, 85th R.S. history

Help | Status

HB 5, 85th R.S.
Relating to the powers and duties of the Department of Family and Protective Services and the transfer of certain powers and duties from the Health and Human Services Commission.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: James Frank
Joint Author: Richard Peña Raymond | Cindy Burkett | Mark Keough | Ina Minjarez
Coauthor: Charles "Doc" Anderson | Cecil Bell | Kyle Biedermann | César Blanco | Dwayne Bohac | Dennis Bonnen | Greg Bonnen | Dustin Burrows | Angie Button | Giovanni Capriglione | Byron Cook | Tony Dale | Dawnna Dukes | Wayne Faircloth | Pat Fallon | Charlie Geren | Phil King | Stephanie Klick | Linda Koop | Matt Krause | Jeff Leach | Oscar Longoria | Sergio Muñoz, Jr. | Tom Oliverson | Tan Parker | Matt Rinaldi | Scott Sanford | Matt Shaheen | Ron Simmons | Phil Stephenson | Lynn Stucky | Valoree Swanson | Ed Thompson | Jason Villalba | Paul Workman | John Wray | Gene Wu | Bill Zedler | John Zerwas
Sponsor: Charles Schwertner
CoSponsor: Charles Perry

Remarks: This Act takes effect September 1, 2017, except Section 24 takes effect immediately.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2017, 85th R.S.,ch. 316, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Committee Report (TLC)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 05/25/2017) James Frank (Chair) | Travis Clardy | Charlie Geren | Richard Peña Raymond | John Smithee |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/26/2017) Charles Schwertner (Chair) | Joan Huffman | Jane Nelson | Charles Perry | Carlos Uresti |

Gubernatorial documents:

Family--Child Protection
State Agencies, Boards & Commissions

House Committee: Human Services (Richard Peña Raymond, James Frank, Mark Keough, Stephanie Klick, Rick Miller, Ina Minjarez, Toni Rose, Valoree Swanson, Gene Wu)
Minutes: February 20 2017
Senate Committee: Health & Human Services (Charles Schwertner, Dawn Buckingham, Konni Burton, Lois Kolkhorst, Borris Miles, Charles Perry, Van Taylor, Carlos Uresti, Kirk Watson)
Minutes: April 19 2017 | May 3 2017 | May 10 2017

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.