SJR 1, 84th R.S. history

Help | Status

SJR 1, 84th R.S.
Proposing a constitutional amendment increasing the amount of the residence homestead exemption from ad valorem taxation for public school purposes and providing for a reduction of the limitation on the total amount of ad valorem taxes that may be imposed for those purposes on the homestead of an elderly or disabled person to reflect the increased exemption amount, authorizing the legislature to prohibit a political subdivision that has adopted an optional residence homestead exemption from ad valorem taxation from reducing the amount of or repealing the exemption, and prohibiting the enactment of a law that imposes a transfer tax on a transaction that conveys fee simple title to real property.

Last action: Filed with the Secretary of State

Author: Jane Nelson
Joint Author: Paul Bettencourt | Brian Birdwell | Konni Burton | Donna Campbell | Brandon Creighton | Craig Estes | Troy Fraser | Bob Hall | Kelly Hancock | Don Huffines | Joan Huffman | Lois Kolkhorst | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | Robert Nichols | Charles Perry | Charles Schwertner | Larry Taylor | Van Taylor | Carlos Uresti
Sponsor: Dennis Bonnen
CoSponsor: Yvonne Davis | Dwayne Bohac | Angie Button | Drew Darby | Trey Martinez Fischer | Jim Murphy | Tan Parker | Drew Springer | Chris Turner | John Wray

Session Law Chapter: Acts 2015, 84th R.S., SJR 1

Signed legislation


HJR 74 (Similar)

Enabling legislation: SB 1

Bill Analyses:
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Committee Report (TLC)

Disabilities, Persons with
Property Interests--Homestead
Resolutions--Constitutional Amendments
Taxation--Property-Assessment & Collection
Taxation--Property-State Administration
Taxation--School District

House Committee: Ways & Means (Dennis Bonnen, Dwayne Bohac, Angie Button, Drew Darby, Yvonne Davis, Trey Martinez Fischer, Jim Murphy, Tan Parker, Drew Springer, Chris Turner, John Wray)
Minutes: May 12 2015 | May 21 2015 | September 26 2016
Senate Committee: Finance (Jane Nelson, Paul Bettencourt, Brian Birdwell, Kevin Eltife, Kelly Hancock, Juan Hinojosa, Joan Huffman, Lois Kolkhorst, Robert Nichols, Charles Schwertner, Kel Seliger, Larry Taylor, Carlos Uresti, Kirk Watson, Royce West, John Whitmire)
Minutes: March 2 2015 | March 4 2015 | March 17 2015

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.