Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Advanced search - Search results - Bill details

Bill details Help  |  Status

HB 910, 84th Regular Session
Relating to the authority of a person who is licensed to carry a handgun to openly carry a holstered handgun; creating criminal offenses.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Larry Phillips
Joint Author: Dan Flynn | James White | Debbie Riddle | Ryan Guillen
Coauthor: Charles "Doc" Anderson | Rodney Anderson | Trent Ashby | Jimmie Don Aycock | Cecil Bell | Dwayne Bohac | Dennis Bonnen | Greg Bonnen | Cindy Burkett | DeWayne Burns | Dustin Burrows | Angie Button | Giovanni Capriglione | Travis Clardy | Byron Cook | Tom Craddick | Myra Crownover | John Cyrier | Tony Dale | Drew Darby | Gary Elkins | Wayne Faircloth | Pat Fallon | Marsha Farney | Allen Fletcher | James Frank | John Frullo | Rick Galindo | Charlie Geren | Craig Goldman | Dan Huberty | Bryan Hughes | Jason Isaac | Kyle Kacal | Jim Keffer | Mark Keough | Ken King | Phil King | Susan Lewis King | Stephanie Klick | Matt Krause | John Kuempel | Brooks Landgraf | Lyle Larson | Jodie Laubenberg | Jeff Leach | J. M. Lozano | Will Metcalf | Rick Miller | Geanie Morrison | Jim Murphy | Andrew Murr | John Otto | Chris Paddie | Tan Parker | Dennis Paul | Gilbert Peña | Dade Phelan | Four Price | John Raney | Scott Sanford | Matt Schaefer | Mike Schofield | Leighton Schubert | Matt Shaheen | Kenneth Sheets | J. D. Sheffield | Ron Simmons | David Simpson | Wayne Smith | Stuart Spitzer | Drew Springer | Phil Stephenson | Ed Thompson | Scott Turner | Gary VanDeaver | Molly White | Paul Workman | John Wray | Bill Zedler | John Zerwas
Sponsor: Craig Estes
CoSponsor: Paul Bettencourt | Bob Hall | Brandon Creighton

Remarks: This Act takes effect January 1, 2016, except Section 31 takes effect September 1, 2015, and Section 32 takes effect September 1, 2019.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2015, 84th R.S.,ch. 437, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


SB 17 (Identical)
SB 346 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Committee Report (TLC)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 05/27/2015) Larry Phillips (Chair) | DeWayne Burns | Charlie Geren | Phil King | Poncho Nevárez |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/28/2015) Craig Estes (Chair) | Kevin Eltife | Don Huffines | Joan Huffman | Carlos Uresti |

Gubernatorial documents:


House Committee: Homeland Security & Public Safety (Larry Phillips, DeWayne Burns, Tony Dale, Eric Johnson, Will Metcalf, Joe Moody, Poncho Nevárez, Molly White, John Wray)
Senate Committee: State Affairs (Joan Huffman, Brian Birdwell, Brandon Creighton, Rodney Ellis, Craig Estes, Troy Fraser, Jane Nelson, Charles Schwertner, Judith Zaffirini)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.