Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Advanced search - Search results - Bill details

Bill details Help  |  Status

HJR 6, 79th Regular Session
Proposing a constitutional amendment providing that marriage in this state consists only of the union of one man and one woman.

Last action: Filed with the Secretary of State

Author: Warren Chisum
Joint Author: Will Hartnett | Chuck Hopson | Charlie Howard | Jim McReynolds
Coauthor: Ray Allen | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Leo Berman | Roy Blake, Jr. | Dwayne Bohac | Dennis Bonnen | Dan Branch | Betty Brown | Fred Brown | Bill Callegari | Scott Campbell | Carter Casteel | Byron Cook | Robert Cook | Frank Corte, Jr. | Joe Crabb | Myra Crownover | John Davis | Glenda Dawson | Dianne Delisi | Mary Denny | Joe Driver | Rob Eissler | Gary Elkins | Dan Flynn | Dan Gattis | Charlie Geren | Toby Goodman | Bob Griggs | Kent Grusendorf | Mike Hamilton | Rick Hardcastle | Linda Harper-Brown | Glenn Hegar | Harvey Hilderbran | Fred Hill | Mark Homer | Ruben Hope | Bryan Hughes | Carl Isett | Jim Jackson | Delwin Jones | Bill Keffer | Jim Keffer | Phil King | Lois Kolkhorst | Mike Krusee | Edmund Kuempel | Jodie Laubenberg | Jerry Madden | Tommy Merritt | Sid Miller | Geanie Morrison | Anna Mowery | Joe Nixon | Dora Olivo | Rob Orr | John Otto | Ken Paxton | Larry Phillips | Chente Quintanilla | Debbie Riddle | Gene Seaman | Todd Smith | Wayne Smith | John Smithee | Burt Solomons | Robert Talton | Larry Taylor | Vicki Truitt | Corbin Van Arsdale | George West | Beverly Woolley | Bill Zedler
Sponsor: Todd Staples
CoSponsor: Tommy Williams

Session Law Chapter: Acts 2005, 79th R.S., HJR 6

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)

Family--Marriage Relationship
Resolutions--Constitutional Amendments

House Committee: State Affairs (David Swinford, Byron Cook, Jessica Farrar, Dan Gattis, Jim Keffer, Trey Martinez Fischer, Sid Miller, Mike Villarreal, Martha Wong)
Minutes: April 4 2005 | April 11 2005
Senate Committee: State Affairs (Robert Duncan, Kenneth Armbrister, Rodney Ellis, Troy Fraser, Chris Harris, Mike Jackson, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Frank Madla, Tommy Williams)
Minutes: May 16 2005 | May 19 2005 | May 20 2005

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.