SB 1, 87th 3rd C.S. history

Help | Status

SB 1, 87th 3rd C.S.
Relating to an increase in the amount of the exemption of residence homesteads from ad valorem taxation by a school district and the protection of school districts against the resulting loss in local revenue.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Paul Bettencourt
Coauthor: Dawn Buckingham | Donna Campbell | Brandon Creighton | Bob Hall | Juan Hinojosa | Bryan Hughes | Lois Kolkhorst | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | Angela Paxton | Charles Perry | Charles Schwertner | Drew Springer | Royce West | Judith Zaffirini
Sponsor: Morgan Meyer
Joint Sponsor: Angie Button | Will Metcalf | Mayes Middleton | Greg Bonnen
CoSponsor: Charles "Doc" Anderson | Trent Ashby | Keith Bell | Kyle Biedermann | Brad Buckley | Dustin Burrows | Giovanni Capriglione | David Cook | John Cyrier | Drew Darby | Yvonne Davis | Jay Dean | Charlie Geren | Barbara Gervin-Hawkins | Craig Goldman | Ryan Guillen | Cody Harris | Cole Hefner | Justin Holland | Lacey Hull | Julie Johnson | Kyle Kacal | Phil King | Stephanie Klick | Matt Krause | Brooks Landgraf | Jeff Leach | Ben Leman | J. M. Lozano | Ina Minjarez | Eddie Morales | Geanie W. Morrison | Jim Murphy | Candy Noble | Tom Oliverson | Tan Parker | Jared Patterson | Dennis Paul | Mary Ann Perez | John Raney | Richard Peña Raymond | Glenn Rogers | Mike Schofield | Matt Shaheen | Hugh Shine | Bryan Slaton | Shelby Slawson | Reggie Smith | David Spiller | Phil Stephenson | Lynn Stucky | Ed Thompson | Senfronia Thompson | Steve Toth | Gary VanDeaver | James White | Terry M. Wilson

Remarks: This Act takes effect on the date on which SJR 2 is approved by the voters, except Section 4 takes effect immediately. If SJR 2 is not approved by the voters, this Act has no effect.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2021, 87th 3rd C.S.,ch. 4, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 89 (Identical)

Enabling legislation for: SJR 2

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 10/15/2021) Morgan Meyer (Chair) | Greg Bonnen | Angie Button | Ryan Guillen | Richard Peña Raymond |

Senate Members: (appointed 10/15/2021) Paul Bettencourt (Chair) | Brandon Creighton | Lois Kolkhorst | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | Charles Perry |

Education--Primary & Secondary--Finance
Education--Primary & Secondary--General
Taxation--Property-Assessment & Collection
Taxation--Property-Tax Rate
Taxation--School District

House Committee: Ways & Means (Morgan Meyer, Angie Button, Sheryl Cole, R. D. "Bobby" Guerra, Trey Martinez Fischer, Jim Murphy, Candy Noble, Eddie Rodriguez, Scott Sanford, Hugh Shine, Shawn Thierry)
Senate Committee: Finance (Joan Huffman, Jane Nelson, Paul Bettencourt, Dawn Buckingham, Donna Campbell, Brandon Creighton, Kelly Hancock, Juan Hinojosa, Bryan Hughes, Lois Kolkhorst, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Robert Nichols, Charles Perry, Charles Schwertner, Larry Taylor, Royce West, John Whitmire)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.