SJR 2, 87th 2nd C.S. history

Help | Status

SJR 2, 87th 2nd C.S.
Proposing a constitutional amendment authorizing the legislature to provide for the reduction of the amount of a limitation on the total amount of ad valorem taxes that may be imposed for general elementary and secondary public school purposes on the residence homestead of a person who is elderly or disabled to reflect any statutory reduction from the preceding tax year in the maximum compressed rate of the maintenance and operations taxes imposed for those purposes on the homestead.

Last action: Co-author authorized

Author: Paul Bettencourt
Joint Author: Lois Kolkhorst
Coauthor: Carol Alvarado | Brian Birdwell | César Blanco | Dawn Buckingham | Donna Campbell | Brandon Creighton | Sarah Eckhardt | Roland Gutierrez | Bob Hall | Kelly Hancock | Juan Hinojosa | Joan Huffman | Bryan Hughes | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | José Menéndez | Jane Nelson | Robert Nichols | Angela Paxton | Charles Perry | Beverly Powell | Charles Schwertner | Kel Seliger | Drew Springer | Larry Taylor | Royce West | John Whitmire | Judith Zaffirini
Sponsor: Morgan Meyer
Joint Sponsor: Will Metcalf | Dustin Burrows | Candy Noble | Scott Sanford
CoSponsor: Rafael Anchía | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Cecil Bell | Keith Bell | Kyle Biedermann | Greg Bonnen | Brad Buckley | DeWayne Burns | Angie Button | David Cook | Drew Darby | Jay Dean | Art Fierro | Charlie Geren | Sam Harless | Cody Harris | Cole Hefner | Dan Huberty | Todd Hunter | John Kuempel | Jeff Leach | Geanie W. Morrison | Jim Murphy | Tom Oliverson | Chris Paddie | Jared Patterson | Dennis Paul | Four Price | Hugh Shine | Bryan Slaton | David Spiller | Phil Stephenson | Valoree Swanson | Ed Thompson | Tony Tinderholt | Gary VanDeaver | Cody Vasut | James White | Terry M. Wilson

Session Law Chapter: Acts 2021, 87th 2nd C.S., SJR 2

Signed legislation


HJR 2 (Identical)
HJR 26 (Identical)

Enabling legislation: SB 12

Disabilities, Persons with
Property Interests--Homestead
Resolutions--Constitutional Amendments
Taxation--Property-Assessment & Collection
Taxation--Property-Tax Rate
Taxation--School District

House Committee: Ways & Means (Morgan Meyer, Angie Button, Sheryl Cole, R. D. "Bobby" Guerra, Trey Martinez Fischer, Jim Murphy, Candy Noble, Eddie Rodriguez, Scott Sanford, Hugh Shine, Shawn Thierry)
Senate Committee: Local Government (Paul Bettencourt, Sarah Eckhardt, Roland Gutierrez, Bob Hall, José Menéndez, Robert Nichols, Angela Paxton, Drew Springer, Judith Zaffirini)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.