SJR 1, 85th R.S. history

Help | Status

SJR 1, 85th R.S.
Proposing a constitutional amendment authorizing the legislature to provide for an exemption from ad valorem taxation of all or part of the market value of the residence homestead of the surviving spouse of a first responder who is killed or fatally injured in the line of duty.

Last action: Filed with the Secretary of State

Author: Donna Campbell
Joint Author: José Menéndez | Carlos Uresti | Judith Zaffirini
Coauthor: Larry Taylor | José Rodríguez | Paul Bettencourt | Juan Hinojosa | Eddie Lucio, Jr.
Sponsor: Pat Fallon
Joint Sponsor: Angie Button | Chris Turner | Richard Peña Raymond | Charlie Geren
CoSponsor: Roberto Alonzo | Rafael Anchía | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Rodney Anderson | Ernest Bailes | Cecil Bell | Diego Bernal | Kyle Biedermann | César Blanco | Dwayne Bohac | Greg Bonnen | Cindy Burkett | DeWayne Burns | Dustin Burrows | Briscoe Cain | Terry Canales | Giovanni Capriglione | Philip Cortez | Scott Cosper | Tom Craddick | John Cyrier | Tony Dale | Jay Dean | Gary Elkins | Wayne Faircloth | Dan Flynn | James Frank | John Frullo | Larry Gonzales | R. D. "Bobby" Guerra | Ryan Guillen | Cole Hefner | Abel Herrero | Gina Hinojosa | Justin Holland | Donna Howard | Jason Isaac | Mark Keough | Phil King | Tracy King | Stephanie Klick | Linda Koop | Matt Krause | John Kuempel | Stan Lambert | Brooks Landgraf | Mike Lang | Lyle Larson | Jodie Laubenberg | Jeff Leach | J. M. Lozano | Eddie Lucio III | Armando Martinez | Will Metcalf | Morgan Meyer | Rick Miller | Ina Minjarez | Joe Moody | Geanie W. Morrison | Sergio Muñoz, Jr. | Andrew Murr | Victoria Neave | Tom Oliverson | Chris Paddie | Tan Parker | Dennis Paul | Mary Ann Perez | Dade Phelan | Larry Phillips | Joseph Pickett | Matt Rinaldi | Kevin Roberts | Eddie Rodriguez | Justin Rodriguez | Ramon Romero | Scott Sanford | Matt Schaefer | Mike Schofield | Leighton Schubert | Matt Shaheen | J. D. Sheffield | Hugh Shine | Ron Simmons | Drew Springer | Phil Stephenson | Lynn Stucky | Valoree Swanson | Ed Thompson | Tony Tinderholt | Tomas Uresti | Gary VanDeaver | James White | Terry M. Wilson | Paul Workman | John Wray | Gene Wu | Bill Zedler | John Zerwas | Drew Darby | Byron Cook | Trent Ashby | Todd Hunter | Barbara Gervin-Hawkins | Dennis Bonnen

Session Law Chapter: Acts 2017, 85th R.S., SJR 1

Signed legislation


HJR 86 (Identical)
HJR 88 (Identical)

Enabling legislation: SB 15

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Fire Fighters & Police--General
Health--Emergency Services & Personnel
Law Enforcement
Property Interests--Homestead
Resolutions--Constitutional Amendments
Taxation--Property-Appraisals & Appraisal Districts

House Committee: Ways & Means (Dennis Bonnen, Dwayne Bohac, Drew Darby, Yvonne Davis, Eric Johnson, Jim Murphy, Andrew Murr, Richard Peña Raymond, Hugh Shine, Drew Springer, Phil Stephenson)
Minutes: May 18 2017
Senate Committee: Finance (Jane Nelson, Paul Bettencourt, Brian Birdwell, Donna Campbell, Kelly Hancock, Juan Hinojosa, Joan Huffman, Lois Kolkhorst, Robert Nichols, Charles Schwertner, Kel Seliger, Larry Taylor, Carlos Uresti, Kirk Watson, Royce West, John Whitmire)
Minutes: February 28 2017

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.