Leonidas Jefferson Storey

Leonidas Jefferson Storey

Full Name: Leonidas Jefferson Storey
Date of birth: October 6, 1834
Date of death: March 28, 1909

Terms of Service top

Chamber District Dates of Service Legislatures Party City/County Note Counties in District
S 31 Apr 18, 1876 - Jan 11, 1881 16th (1) (2)   15th (3)   16th (1) (2)   Democrat Lockhart / Caldwell Senate President Pro Tempore (16th)   Blanco, Caldwell, Guadalupe, Hays, Llano, McCulloch, San Saba
H 27 Jan 13, 1874 - Apr 18, 1876 14th   Democrat Lockhart / Caldwell   Caldwell, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays
H 27 Jan 14, 1873 - Jan 13, 1874 13th   Democrat Lockhart / Caldwell   Caldwell, Gonzales, Guadalupe

(1) 16th Legislature - Senate President Pro Tempore, elected 4/19/1879, Regular Session; and 1st C.S. Senate Journal.
(2) Democrat, 1/14/1879, p. 1. Galveston Daily News.
(3) 15th Legislature - All Senators except District 7 listed in roll call as Senators elect, oath of office administered, 4/18/1876, p. 1; Drawing of Senatorial Terms, 4/27/1876, p. 98, drew "long term" (four years). Senate Journal. April 14, 1876 April 27, 1876

Biographical Notes and Resources top

Resolutions and Journal entries

Biographical Sketches

Military Service Notes

  • Confederate States Army, Captain, Company B, 26th Texas Cavalry, Xavier B. DeBray's brigade. Handbook of Texas Online.

Other Resources

  • Railroad Commissioners Past through Present, with dates of service. Railroad Commission of Texas.
  • Mentioned in "Through the Years - San Saba Representatives in Legislative History," 4/1/1948, p. 9. San Saba News.


  • Photograph. L.J. Story, 15th Legislature, State Preservation Board
  • Photograph. L.J. Storey, 14th Legislature, State Preservation Board
  • Photograph. L.J. Storey, 13th Legislature, State Preservation Board
  • Photograph. L.J. Storey, 13th Legislature, DeGolyer Library, SMU, Lawrence T. Jones III Texas Photographs
  • Photograph. Leonidas Jefferson Storey, Presiding Officers of the Texas Legislature, 1846-2006

Composite Photographs on Display in the Capitol

Committee Information top

16th R.S. - 1879
Agricultural Affairs  
Constitutional Amendments  
Finance (Chair) 
Funeral and Remains of the Late Honorable Gustave Schleicher  
Indian Affairs and Frontier Protection  
Internal Improvements  
Judiciary No. 1  
New Judiciary Article to the Constitution  
Public Buildings and Grounds  
Public Debt  
Revision of Code  
Revision of Rules  
State Affairs  
Treasurer's and Comptroller's Departments (Chair) 
15th R.S. - 1876
Constitutional Amendments  
Contingent Expenses  
Educational Affairs  
Finance (Chair) 
Judiciary No. 1  
Privileges and Elections  
Public Debt  
Public Lands  
Revision of Senate Rules of Order and Joint Committee on Rules of Joint Session  
State Penitentiaries  
14th R.S. - 1874
Agriculture and Stock Raising  
Commerce and Manufactures  
Comptroller and Treasurer  
Comptroller's and Treasurer's Office  
Congressional Districts  
Constitutional Amendments  
Election Contest, Petition of S.Y. Smith of Walker County, James V. Lea  
Engrossed Bills (Chair) 
Judiciary No. 2  
Printing and Contingent Expenses  
Removal of Judge J.J. Thornton, 24th Judicial District (Co-Chair) 
Rules (Chair) 
13th R.S. - 1873
Agriculture and Stock Raising  
Engrossed Bills  
Impeachment Managers, Judge William Chambers, 1st Judicial District  
Impeachment of Judge William Chambers, 1st Judicial District, Select  
Judiciary No. 1  

This website is a work in progress. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.

Have a question, comment or contribution? Email the Library or call 512-463-1252.

Many photos in Texas Legislators: Past and Present are used with permission of the Texas State Preservation Board. For permission to reproduce these photos, please contact the Texas State Preservation Board graphics coordinator at 512-475-3060.