Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

House Committee on Penitentiary Claims Auditing - 35th R.S. (1917)

Committee Members
William Allen Poage, Chair
Bruce W. Bryant
I.D. Fairchild
Charles B. Metcalfe
Ice B. Reeves
  • That there is hereby created a committee of five members, to be appointed by the Speaker, to be know as the Penitentiary Claims Auditing Committee. It shall be the duty of said committee to examine into the nature, history, and amount of all claims against the penitentiary system which may be laid before it, and to report to the House on each claim not later the February 10, 1917. The report of said committee shall be advisory only, and shall contain a brief statement of the nature, history, and amount of each claim, together with a recommendation that it be paid either in whole or in part, or that it be not paid, stating the reasons for each recommendation. The committee shall hold, and through the press give notice of, public hearings in the city of Austin; the committee, if they deem necessary, may visit other places to gather data and information; the members may be excused by the Speaker from other committee duties. The chairman or acting chairman shall have the power to issue process and compel attendance of witnesses and to administer oaths. The witness may be paid their actual mileage and $1 per diem out of the contingency expense fund

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.