Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

House Committee on Penitentiaries Subcommittee to Visit Penitentiaries - 30th R.S. (1907)

Committee Members
Jacob Leonard Goodman, Chair
William E. Austin
Leander Taylor Beaty
Benjiman F. James
Joseph Colston Kindred
Edwin Cash Lively
James Coleman Mason
Cader Adkin Shelby
John Dudley Stephenson
George Butler Terrell
Thomas S. Wade
Frank Lawson Young
  • Visit the State penitentiaries at Huntsville and at Rusk, all farms, State or otherwise, where State convicts are held and worked, the State reformatory at Gatesville, and the camp or detention farm for female convicts near Huntsville, Texas; the duty of said sub-committee shall be to diligently inquire into the methods of handling and treatment of convicts in all such institutions, the condition of State properties in connection therewith and all such other matters pertaining to same as may be deemed proper, and make report to this House with their recommendations upon informaiton obtained.

Reps. James and Austin were added to the committee on motion of Rep. Goodman.
H.J. of Tex., 30th R.S. 742 (1907)

Only Reps. Goodman, Stephenson, Mason, Shelby, Lively and Young signed the committee report, which mentions that one branch of the committee was not able to complete its investigation.
H.J. of Tex., 30th Leg., R.S. 1355 (1907)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.