Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

Senate Committee on Population Distribution, Interim - 62nd R.S. (1971)

Committee Members
Max Sherman, Chair
Lindley Garrison Beckworth
W.E. 'Pete' Snelson
Public members
H.M. Baggarly
E. Reginald Brewer
Harley L. Browning
R.G. Muckleroy, Jr.
Arthur Temple, III
Stanley E. Wilkes
  • Conduct a study for the purpose of identifying the causes of and recommending remedies for this major problem.
  • The committee shall study the movement of Texas youth from rural to urban areas, and the increasing ecological and sociological problems in the urban areas.*

Appointed by Lieutenant Governor, pursuant to SR 1168. Senate members listed in press release issued by the Lieutentant Governor on Decebmer 1, 1971 and on report: Sherman (Chair), Beckworth, Snelson. According to Interim Committees: 62nd - 66th Legislatures, 1971-1979, L1800.1 In8 1971-79: Lt. Governor's Senate appointees were McKool, Herring, Sherman, Kothmann, and Beckworth.

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.