Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Santa Fe, Prepare Remonstrance and Protest Against the Further Continuance of a Military Government in - 3rd R.S. (1849)

Committee Members
Jeremiah Clough, Co-Chair
David Campbell Van Derlip, Co-Chair
Benjamin Franklin
James Shackleford Gillett
William George Washington Jowers
Thomas Freeman McKinney
David Young Portis
James W. Scott
William Henry Stewart
Benjamin Rush Wallace
William M. 'Buckskin' Williams
James Charles Wilson
  • Draft a remonstrance to the Congress of the United States in relation to the territory of Sante Fe.
  • Report on existence of military government within the territory of the State of Texas, countenanced and maintained by the Federal Government, in counties of Santa Fe, Worth, and a portion of El Paso.

House members appointed 11/23/1849, pursuant to resolution by Clough; Jowers added 11/24/1849; Gillett, Wilson, Scott, and McKinney added 12/4/1849; in special joint committee report 1/26/1850, Clough listed as Chairman on part of House and Van Derlip on part of Senate (House Journal, 3rd R.S., pp. 127, 172-173, 177, 225, 664-666).
Senate members appointed 11/14/1849, pursuant to preamble and resolution by Van Derlip (Senate Journal, 3rd R.S., pp. 117-118).

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.