Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

House Committee on Higher Education - 67th R.S. (1981)

Committee Members
Wilhelmina Delco, Chair
David Cain, Vice Chair
Ronald D. Coleman, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Bo Crawford, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Jerry A. Cockerham
Buck Florence
Robert C. 'Frank' Gaston
Jim Horn
Jimmy Mankins
Michael W. Martin
René O. Oliveira
Albert Price
Bob Simpson
Jack Vowell
Steven Wolens
• Examine alternative tuition policies and recommendations to the current tuition charged by public institutions of higher education. In addition, make a statistical analysis of such costs in Texas as compared to those of other states.
• Conduct an overview investigation off campus instruction offered by public junior colleges and universities.
• Study the need for salary supplements for college and university presidents, faculty development, early retirement programs, and improved faculty salaries with emphasis on merit increases.
• Develop a clear definition of which revenues received by institutions of higher education should be deposited to the State Treasury. A determination of what constitutes local funds vs. state funds should be made.
• Determine whether State medical schools and health science centers should be required to deposit part or all of their local receipts to the State Treasury.
• Oversight functions shall be conducted for all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 67th Regular Session of the Legislature.

Michael Martin (Member) resigned 4/22/1982.
Jimmy Mankins (Member) appointed 5/24/1982. Memorandum, Billy Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, May 24, 1982. See House Speaker Clayton Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1979-82.)
Rene Oliveira is listed as a committee member on the interim report.
Steve Wolens is not listed as a committee member on the interim report.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.