Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on Government Organization - 81st R.S. (2009)

Committee Members
Rodney Ellis, Chair
Glenn Hegar, Vice Chair
Brian Birdwell
Joan Huffman
Eddie Lucio, Jr.
Jane Nelson
Steve Ogden
John Whitmire
  • Review all committees, councils and task forces with overlapping charges in an effort to streamline and eliminate overlapping workgroups across state government agencies and programs.
  • Study the online services provided by the state and compare those services to the services provided by other states. In coordination with the Department of Information Resources, determine how online services provided by the state can be improved.
  • Review opportunities for increasing the transparency of government operations and make recommendations for enhancing public access to government.
  • Monitor the implementation of legislation addressed by the Senate Committee on Government Organization, 81 st Legislature, Regular and Called Sessions, and make recommendations for any legislation needed to improve, enhance, and/or complete implementation.

Senator Huffman, Member, 1/30/2009-7/14/2010. Senator Birdwell appointed Member, 7/14/2010 (Press release, Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst, 7/14/2010).

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.