George M. Cowden

George Malcolm Cowden

Full Name: George Malcolm Cowden

Terms of Service top

Chamber District Dates of Service Legislatures Party City/County Note Counties in District
H 43-2 Jan 12, 1965 - Dec 31, 1966 59th (4) (5)   Democrat Waco / McLennan   McLennan
H 35-2 Elected but never sworn 60th (1) (2) (3)   Democrat Waco / McLennan   McLennan
H 43-2 Jan 8, 1963 - Jan 12, 1965 58th (6)   Democrat Waco / McLennan   McLennan

(1) "Resigned State Solon to Work for Martin," 12/2/1966, p. 62. Abilene Reporter-News.
(2) Tom Moore, Jr. elected in runoff election on 2/4/1967; succeeded George Cowden who resigned effective 12/31/1966. Corpus Christi Caller-Times.
(3) George Cowden elected, but never sworn. Resigned effective 12/31/1966 [to assume office of assistant attorney general]. Texas Legislative Manual.
(4) Tom Moore, Jr., in special election 2/4/1967, sworn 2/13/1967, succeeded George M. Cowden, resigned 12/31/1966. Members of the Texas Congress 1836-1845; Members of the Texas Legislature 1846-2004, 2005.
(5) Special election 1/7/1967, runoff 2/4/1967. Texas Secretary of State - Election Dates Including Special Elections, 1966-2001.
(6) Sworn 11/23/1962. Oaths of Office.

Biographical Notes and Resources top

Other Resources


Composite Photographs on Display in the Capitol

Committee Information top

59th R.S. - 1965
Constitutional Amendments  
Election Law  
Game and Fisheries  
Motor Traffic  
Privileges, Suffrage and Elections (Vice Chair) 
58th R.S. - 1963
Livestock and Stock Raising  
Motor Traffic  
Privileges, Suffrage, and Elections  
School Districts  

This website is a work in progress. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.

Have a question, comment or contribution? Email the Library or call 512-463-1252.

Many photos in Texas Legislators: Past and Present are used with permission of the Texas State Preservation Board. For permission to reproduce these photos, please contact the Texas State Preservation Board graphics coordinator at 512-475-3060.