J.V. Lea

James Vernon Lea

Full Name: James Vernon Lea
Date of birth: January 12, 1850
Date of death: July 4, 1928

Terms of Service top

Chamber District Dates of Service Legislatures Party City/County Note Counties in District
H 15 Jan 23, 1874 - Apr 18, 1876 14th (1) (2) (3)   Democrat Cold Spring / San Jacinto   Grimes, Madison, San Jacinto, Walker

(1) The first post office, named Coonskin, was opened in 1847. Within a year the office was renamed Fireman's Hill, and in 1850 the name was changed to Cold Spring, officially respelled Coldspring in 1894. Handbook of Texas Online.
(2) Election Contest, Petition of S.Y. Smith of Walker County, James V. Lea, committee appointment and report, 1/23/1874, pp. 8, 31-32. House Journal.
(3) James V. Lea unseated Sam Y. Smith in election contest 1/23/1874. Members of the Texas Congress 1836-1845; Members of the Texas Legislature 1846-2004, 2005.

Biographical Notes and Resources top

Biographical Sketches

  • Obituary, "Rites for Judge James Lea to Be Held Here Thursday," 7/5/1928, p. 4. Birth date 1/12/1850 in Cold Spring, "elected to the state legislature at the age of 20, this precocious accomplishment being made possible only by legislative act making him legally of age." Daily Court Review (Harris County, Texas).
  • Obituaries and photo, James Vernon Lea, "Funeral Service for Judge Lea to Be Held Thursday," 7/4/1928, pp. 15-16. "Captain J.V. Lea; Masons to Have Charge of Lea Funeral Services," 7/5/1928, p. 2. Houston Chronicle.
  • Biographical sketch, Sam Y. Smith, pp. 94-95. Birth date 9/29/1841. Smith was elected "in 1874 as a Democratic member of the 14th Texas Legislature, and held the position for two weeks; resigned it to J.V. Lea, also a Democrat, who had received a larger number of votes than himself, but who was refused the certificate of election in consequence of informality in returns. Mr. Smith's magnanimous conduct in giving the position to Mr. Lea was recognized by the House as an act worthy of special mention." Sketches of Legislators and State Officers, Fifteenth Legislature, 1876-1878, 1876.

Other Resources


  • Photograph. J.V. Lea, 14th Legislature, State Preservation Board

Composite Photographs on Display in the Capitol

Committee Information top

14th R.S. - 1874
Commerce and Manufactures  
Counties and County Boundaries  
Judiciary No. 2  

This website is a work in progress. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.

Have a question, comment or contribution? Email the Library or call 512-463-1252.

Many photos in Texas Legislators: Past and Present are used with permission of the Texas State Preservation Board. For permission to reproduce these photos, please contact the Texas State Preservation Board graphics coordinator at 512-475-3060.