Cecil Murphy

Cecil Murphy

Full Name: William Cecil Murphy
Date of birth: March 15, 1900
Date of death: May 2, 1960

Terms of Service top

Chamber District Dates of Service Legislatures Party City/County Note Counties in District
S 9 Nov 12, 1932 - Jan 8, 1935 43rd (1) (2) (3) (4)   42nd (5)   43rd (1) (2) (3) (4)   Democrat Gainesville / Cooke Senate President Pro Tempore (43rd)   Cooke, Fannin, Grayson

(1) Cecil Murphy. Senate Journal.
(2) Cecil Murphy. Texas Legislative Manual.
(3) 43rd Legislature - Senate President Pro Tempore, 3rd C.S., elected 8/27/1934. Senate Journal.
(4) 43rd Legislature - Roll Call of Holdover Senators, 1/10/1933, p. 1. Senate Media.
(5) Cecil Murphy, sworn 11/12/1932, succeeded to unexpired term of Jacob J. Loy, resigned 9/22/1932. Members of the Texas Congress 1836-1845; Members of the Texas Legislature 1846-2004, 2005.

Biographical Notes and Resources top

Biographical Sketches

  • Memorial, September 1960, p. 600. William Cecil Murphy, " . . . public career included membership on the Texas Democratic Executive Committee from 1930-32." Texas Bar Journal.


  • Photograph. Cecil Murphy, 43rd Legislature, State Preservation Board

Composite Photographs on Display in the Capitol

Committee Information top

43rd R.S. - 1933
Agricultural Affairs  
Anti-Nepotism, Special  
Civil Jurisprudence  
Constitutional Amendments (Vice Chair) 
Counties and County Boundaries  
Criminal Jurisprudence  
Highway Department Investigation, Committee of the Whole Senate  
Public Buildings and Grounds (Chair) 
State Penitentiaries  
Stock and Stockraising  
Texas Rehabilitation and Relief Commission Investigation, Committee of the Whole Senate  
Texas Rehabilitation and Relief Commission Investigation, Committee of the Whole Senate, Steering Committee  
42nd R.S. - 1931
Agricultural Affairs  
Commerce and Manufacturing  
Representative Districts  
State Highways and Motor Traffic  
State Penitentiaries  
Stock and Stock Raising  
Towns and City Corporations  

This website is a work in progress. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.

Have a question, comment or contribution? Email the Library or call 512-463-1252.

Many photos in Texas Legislators: Past and Present are used with permission of the Texas State Preservation Board. For permission to reproduce these photos, please contact the Texas State Preservation Board graphics coordinator at 512-475-3060.