Post-Secondary Medical, Dental, and Allied Health Education, Special - 70th R.S. (1987)

Committee Members

Public members

  • Jamie H. Clements, Chair
  • Maxie Davie
  • William C. Levin
  • Charles C. Sprague
  • Louis A. Waters


  • Study all issues and concerns relating to Medical, Dental, and Allied Health Education Systems in Texas. The study should include, but not be limited to, the most effective system of governance, role and mission statements for each institution, long-term manpower needs for physicians and other health professionals in Texas, the role of research in health-related institutions, the role of medical and dental institutions in the delivery of health care for Texas residents, and, based on a detailed analysis of program costs, a recommendation for a cost-effective methodology to fund health-related education of the highest quality.


Senate members and public members William Levin and Charles Sprauge appointed by the Lieutenant Governor 9/9/1987. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, September 9, 1987. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments, L1803.1 P926la

Original House members and public members Louis Waters and Maxie Davis appointed by the Speaker 9/22/1987. Cliff Johnson resigned 1/6/1988. Gary Watkins appointed 1/18/1988. (Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, September 22, 1987 and January 18, 1988. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 3.)

Appointed pursuant to HCR 107.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.