Traffic Court System - 62nd R.S. (1971)

Committee Members

Public members

  • B.H. Dewey, Jr.
  • Leon Douglas
  • Kenneth Douglas
  • Leona M. Franklin
  • Sam Gardner
  • Guy Hardin
  • Charles Judice
  • Albert Lee
  • William Sears McGee
  • George Perry
  • A. Ross Rommel
  • Josiah Wheat


  • A comprehensive statewide study and examination of the structure and operation of Texas traffic courts be undertaken and this study should include geographic jurisdiction, authority, rules of procedure, qualification of traffic court personnel, mandatory personal appearance of defendant in court, utilization of records before sentencing, range of penalties, reporting of convictions, training for court personnel, the financial aspects of traffic courts, including sources of funds, costs of operation and disposition of revenue, recommendations on adequate courtroom facilities; judges salaries, education and a code of ethics; and any other related fields in which the study committee may feel action is necessary and proper for the orderly administration of justice in traffic cases.


House members appointed by Speaker 7/30/1971, pursuant to SCR 86. House, Senate, citizen, and other members listed in report.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.