Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Penitentiary - 15th R.S. (1876)

Committee Members
William Sidney Coleman, Chair
W.S.J. Adams
Washington Lafayette Denman
Matthew Alexander Gaston
John Summerfield Griffith
William Lang
Mitchell Henderson McCuistion
Ibzan William Middlebrook
Alexis Theodore Rainey
William M. Rust
Erich F. Schmidt
George W. Schrier
Travis Shaw
Samuel Yerger Smith
Elias B. Smyth
William Thompson
  • Investigate all matters related to the affairs of the penitentiary Commissioners appointed by the Governor and report as to what may be necessary to enable the State of Texas to resume control of the penitentiary in case of emergency and report on the practicability of adding to the penitentiary in Huntsville.*

Hotchkiss included in original committee appointment, but no member by that name in 15th Leg. Lang and Griffith added 4/24/1876; Adams, Rainey, and Thompson added 5/16/1876 (House Journal, 15th R.S., pp. 61, 63, 162).

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.