Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Reduction of Expenses in Departments, Select - 16th R.S. (1879)

Committee Members
John W. Daniel, Chair
Martin S. Crow
Franklin Lewis Johnston
William Milling Johnston
Wilburn Hill King
John Evans McComb
Marion DeKalb Taylor
William Felton Upton
  • Inquire what officers, clerks and employes of the different departments and of the House of Representatives may be dispensed with without injury to the public service; also, if equally as competent and capable service may not be procured at a less cost to the State; and, also, what amount of wood and other material and what cost.*
  • Consider Governor O.M. Roberts' message and accompanying documents, and inquire into the practicability of reducing the expenses of all the departments.*
  • Be authorized to send for persons and papers and administer oaths in their investigations.*

Appointed by Speaker 2/1/1879, pursuant to resolution by Daniel; Johnston of Leon added 2/7/1879 (House Journal, 16th R.S., pp. 226-227, 283, 291-292, 299, 304).

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.