BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center 87R3227 CXP-D H.B. 1321 By: Bell, Keith et al. (Nichols) Transportation 5/11/2021 Engrossed

AUTHOR'S / SPONSOR'S STATEMENT OF INTENT

In May of 2007, Henderson County Deputy Sheriff Tony Ogburn and Deputy Sheriff Paul Habelt were killed while responding to a domestic violence call in the Payne Springs Community of Henderson County. There have been calls to honor the service of these deputy sheriffs with a highway memorial designation in their names. H.B. 1321 seeks to recognize the officers by designating a portion of State Highway 198 in Henderson County as the Deputy Sheriff Tony Ogburn and Deputy Sheriff Paul Habelt Memorial Highway.

H.B. 1321 amends current law relating to the designation of a portion of State Highway 198 in Henderson County as the Deputy Sheriff Tony Ogburn and Deputy Sheriff Paul Habelt Memorial Highway.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

This bill does not expressly grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, institution, or agency.

SECTION BY SECTION ANALYSIS

SECTION 1. Amends Subchapter B, Chapter 225, Transportation Code, by adding Section 225.190, as follows:

Sec. 225.190. DEPUTY SHERIFF TONY OGBURN AND DEPUTY SHERIFF PAUL HABELT MEMORIAL HIGHWAY. (a) Provides that the portion of State Highway 198 in Henderson County between its intersection with the Kaufman County line and its intersection with State Highway 31 is designated as the Deputy Sheriff Tony Ogburn and Deputy Sheriff Paul Habelt Memorial Highway.

(b) Requires the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), subject to Section 225.021(c) (relating to prohibiting TxDOT from designing, constructing, or erecting a marker unless a grant or donation of funds is made to cover the cost), to:

(1) design and construct markers indicating the designation as the Deputy Sheriff Tony Ogburn and Deputy Sheriff Paul Habelt Memorial Highway and any other appropriate information; and

(2) erect a marker at each end of the highway and at appropriate intermediate sites along the highway.

SECTION 2. Effective date: September 1, 2021.