BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center 84R7743 KJE-D

S.B. 495 By: Watson et al. Higher Education 2/18/2015 As Filed

AUTHOR'S / SPONSOR'S STATEMENT OF INTENT

S.B. 495 transfers two counties from the Austin Community College District service area to the service areas of two nearby community colleges. The bill transfers Gillespie County to the Central Texas College District service area and the portion of Gonzales County that overlaps the Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District to that of The Victoria College District. Central Texas College and Victoria College requested these changes in order to increase efficiency in delivering higher education in the region. All parties agree that the changes are mutually beneficial.

As proposed, S.B. 495 amends current law relating to the service areas of certain junior college districts.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

This bill does not expressly grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, institution or agency.

SECTION BY SECTION ANALYSIS

SECTION 1. Amends Section 130.166, Education Code, as follows:

Sec. 130.166. AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA. Provides that the service area of the Austin Community College District includes the territory within:

- (1) Hays, Caldwell, and Blanco counties, rather than Hays, Gillespie, Caldwell, and Blanco counties;
- (2)-(3) Makes no change to these subdivisions;
- (4) Redesignates Subdivision (5) as Subdivision (4). Makes no further change to this subdivision. Deletes text of existing Subdivision (4) that provided that the service area included the part of the Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District located in Gonzales County.
- (5)-(7) Makes conforming changes.

SECTION 2. Amends Section 130.171, Education Code, as follows:

Sec. 130.171. CENTRAL TEXAS COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA. Provides that the service area of the Central Texas College District includes the territory within:

- (1)-(3) Makes no change to these subdivisions;
- (4) Coryell, Gillespie, Hamilton, Lampasas, Llano, Mason, Mills, and San Saba counties, rather than Coryell, Hamilton, Lampasas, Llano, Mason, Mills, and San Saba counties;

SRC-CAS S.B. 495 84(R) Page 1 of 2

(5)-(11) Makes no change to these subdivisions.

SECTION 3. Amends Section 130.208, Education Code, as follows:

Sec. 130.208. THE VICTORIA COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA. Provides that the service area of The Victoria College District includes the territory within:

- (1) Victoria, Lavaca, DeWitt, Gonzales, and Calhoun counties, rather than Victoria, Lavaca, DeWitt, and Calhoun counties;
- (2) Jackson County, except the territory within the Ganado Independent School District; and
- (3) Makes a nonsubstantive change.

Deletes Subdivision (4), which provided that the service area included Gonzales County, except the territory within the Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District.

SECTION 4. Provides that this Act applies beginning with the 2015 fall semester, the Austin Community College District is authorized to continue to treat the areas removed by this Act from the district's service area as if the areas were still in the district's service area as necessary to avoid an unreasonable interruption of junior college services in the areas, except during the 2015-2016 academic year.

SECTION 5. Effective date: upon passage or September 1, 2015.

SRC-CAS S.B. 495 84(R) Page 2 of 2