BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center

S.B. 1553 By: Ogden Education 4-5-97 As Filed

DIGEST

Currently, the Williamson County school districts of Georgetown, Hutto, and Thrall are in Austin Community College's (ACC) service area. These communities are located a considerable distance away from the nearest ACC campus and because they are not in the ACC taxing district, they are subject to higher, out-of-district tuition rates and fees. Several Williamson County communities have expressed an interest in being jointly served by Temple Community College (TCC) and ACC. By using these school districts' existing infrastructure, TCC will be able to offer in-district rates, without taxing the residents of these communities. S.B. 1553 would allow the school districts of Georgetown, Hutto, and Thrall to be located in both the service areas of Temple Community College and Austin Community College.

PURPOSE

As proposed, S.B. 1553 outlines provisions regarding the service areas of certain public junior colleges.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

This bill does not grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, institution, or agency.

SECTION BY SECTION ANALYSIS

SECTION 1. Chapter 130J, Education Code, by adding Section 130.1615, as follows:

Sec. 130.1615. OVERLAPPING SERVICE AREAS. Authorizes territory to be located in the service area of more than one junior college district.

SECTION 2. Amends Section 130.202, Education Code, to provide that the service area of the Temple Junior College District includes the territory within the Georgetown, Hutto, and Thrall independent school districts located in Williamson County. Makes a nonsubstantive change.

SECTION 3. Emergency clause.

Effective date: upon passage.