SB 1975 Whitmire, et al. (Pickett)

SUBJECT: Establishing the Texas Peace Officers' Memorial Ceremony Committee

COMMITTEE: Homeland Security and Public Safety — favorable, without amendment

VOTE: 9 ayes — P. King, Nevárez, Burns, Hinojosa, Holland, J. Johnson,

Metcalf, Schaefer, Wray

0 nays

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, May 4 — 31-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar

WITNESSES: None

BACKGROUND: Observers suggest it could be beneficial to establish a committee to help

plan, facilitate, and oversee ceremonies held to honor Texas peace officers

killed in the line of duty.

DIGEST: SB 1975 would establish the Texas Peace Officers' Memorial Ceremony

Committee to plan, oversee, and facilitate annual memorial ceremonies held to honor Texas peace officers who were killed in the line of duty, including an annual ceremony on the Capitol grounds. The committee

would consist of:

• a president, or designee, of a law enforcement organization that met certain criteria listed in the bill;

- a surviving spouse of a peace officer killed in the line of duty selected by the Texas chapters of the Concerns of Police Survivors; and
- as nonvoting members, the governor, the lieutenant governor, the House speaker, the attorney general, the director of the Department of Public Safety, the executive director of the State Preservation Board, and the executive director of the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement.

The annual memorial ceremony on the Capitol grounds would be held during the week of May 8 and would include the reading of the name of

SB 1975 House Research Organization page 2

each peace officer who was being added to the Texas Peace Officers' Memorial Monument that year and the recognition of surviving family members. In an odd-numbered year, the ceremony would include a parade of law enforcement color guards and personnel ending at the Capitol, and a ceremony held during a joint session of the Legislature on the House floor, if possible. Private or public funds could be used to fund the ceremony.

The bill would take effect September 1, 2017.