5/10/2001

HB 832 Madden, Chavez (CSHB 832 by B. Turner)

SUBJECT: Creating an advisory committee for vehicle inspections

Public Safety — committee substitute recommended COMMITTEE:

VOTE: 6 ayes — B. Turner, Berman, Driver, Hupp, Isett, P. King

0 nays

3 absent — Keel, Gutierrez, Villarreal

WITNESSES: For — Bill Bandy, Texas State Inspection Association; C.E. "Ed" Martin,

Texas State Inspection Association

Against — None

On — Robert Burroughs, Texas Department of Public Safety

**BACKGROUND:** Transportation Code, ch. 548 establishes guidelines for compulsory

> inspections of motor vehicles. The Department of Public Safety (DPS) certifies inspection stations and may instruct and supervise stations and mechanics regarding inspections. The Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission (TNRCC) is responsible for vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance programs, and emissions inspections may be performed at the same facility as safety inspections if the facility is authorized and certified

by DPS to perform emissions inspections.

DIGEST: CSHB 832 would create an advisory committee of six members who would

advise and make recommendations to DPS on rules and regulations for the certification of vehicle inspection stations and inspectors. TNRCC would appoint three committee members, who would have to include at least:

one representative of inspection station owners and operators,

one representative of manufacturers of emissions inspection devices, and

one representative of the public interest.

The member appointed by the TNRCC commissioner would be the presiding

officer of the committee; committee members could elect an assistant

## HB 832 House Research Organization page 2

presiding officer and a secretary from amongst their membership. The committee members would serve staggered three-year terms and would have the authority to adopt rules. TNRCC's appointees would, by January 1, 2002, be designated to serve the following terms:

- ! the presiding officer for a three-year term;
- ! one member for a two-year term; and
- ! one member for a one-year term.

A member would not be paid but could be reimbursed for travel expenses as provided by the general appropriations act for state employees. The committee also would be entitled to review and comment on proposed rules by TNRCC or DPS.

The Public Safety Commission would have to appoint another three members of the advisory committee by January 1, 2002 as follows:

- ! one representative of inspection station owners and operators for a oneyear term;
- ! one representative of manufacturers of vehicle emissions devices for a two-year term; and
- ! one representative of the public interest for a three-year term.

CSHB 832 would take effect September 1, 2001.

NOTES: The substitute made several changes to the original, including:

- ! adding that TNRCC would have to appoint one member of the committee, and that the member appointed by the presiding TNRCC commissioner would serve as the presiding officer of the committee;
- ! reducing the number of committee members from nine to six; and
- ! adjusting the schedule for appointments of committee members.